Unexpectedly_finding_love_in_Sacramento!

I didn’t mean for it to happen so soon after moving to Sacramento. I moved here just over three years after the early and unexpected death of my wife, my sweetheart since childhood. The one I have found here is just so special that I had to open my heart again and let her in while still saving a part of my heart for my late wife.

On my first visit to Sacramento in early April of this year, we didn’t start off on a good note. I arrived late in the evening, actually just after midnight so I guess it was very, very early morning. I woke her from her sleep, and she didn’t know what to make of the bearded stranger in the cowboy hat. So she growled at me and went back to sleep.

The next morning, or I should say later that same morning after the sun had risen, we were reintroduced to each other. She was curious about the strange man who had entered her life a few hours earlier and decided it was worth the effort to get to know him. We sat next to each other on the couch as we watched TV with her roommates. She spent the next few hours checking me out while one of her roommates filled me in on her life story.

She was the ‘special one’ of the tenant of the rental property next door. She was exposed to his drug dealing and his drug use. There were days she was not properly fed. During a time when the tenant was in jail for a few days, she was accused of attacking someone and locked up herself for a few days on very questionable assault charges. She actually came close to having her life taken while in jail. As things worked out, she was saved by one of her current roommates and brought to live in the residence where I was staying. There were provisos for her release: (1)she would be on continuous probation and (2)she would be subject to ongoing electronic monitoring by agents of the city of Sacramento

During the time I spent in Sacramento during the first week of April, she and I grew closer. We reached the point where she fell in love with me, and I admit I was saddened that my time here looking for work and getting to know her was quickly passing.

As the days wore on, we often cuddled on the couch. She would lie across my lap as I caressed her sides and whispered sweet sentiments in her ears. I was warned there were potential dangers in being so close to her. She had the potential based on her size and strength to hurt me seriously though she actually is one of the most gentle creatures I have ever met.

Finally, my week in Sacramento ended. I left for the airport in the wee hours of the morning to catch my flight to Chicago. When I left, she was asleep. I did not wake her. It was hard enough leaving her without having to look into her soulful, sad eyes.

The next couple of weeks back home in Kenosha, Wisconsin were hard. I missed her deeply and thought about her often. I kept in contact with her roommate while I waited to hear back from my interviews. I had just about given up hope of finding a job and returning to Sacramento when an unexpected opening occurred at a local company I had not even interviewed at but to whom I had previously sent a copy of my resume. A couple of phone call interviews later, I had a job and a start date about two weeks later(the first full week in May).

It was with a joyful and excited heart that I took the train out from Wisconsin to Sacramento to start my new job and be reunited with my unexpected love. I counted the hours till I would be reunited with my love in Sacramento as the Amtrak train made its way across the Midwest and onto the Great Plains and passed through the Rocky Mountains, delayed slightly going through a blizzard outside of Denver. After fifty(50) hours, I finally arrived in Sacramento.

Arriving in my new home in the middle of a warm afternoon, I entered the house and was greeted by my love and her roommates. It was a wonderful reunion. She was every bit as beautiful and loving as I remembered on those lonely nights upon my return to Wisconsin. Her glistening hair; her warm, broad smile; her soulful, beautiful eyes and the heart-shaped mark above her right eye—she was everything I remembered. We hugged and kissed.
It was at that point that I knew I was ‘home’ in Sacramento with a truly unexpected love!

http://www.sacramentopress.com/headline/85247/Unexpectedly_finding_love_in_Sacramento

Received my second front page award with this article(in as many weeks)!  Awesome!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

