A Squirrel Goes to Med School…

In honor of Squirrel Appreciation Day I wanted to take a moment to revisit a classic squirrel story from an episode of M*A*S*H.

Hawkeye is telling Radar a story from his days at medical school:

This happened while I was in my first year of medical school. I was taking an exam in anatomy. It was really tough. They ask questions like “How many bones are there in the hand?” I was stymied. I kept saying to myself, “How many bones are there in the hand?” Then I heard this little voice that said “24.” I looked around the room and there sitting on the window sill of the classroom was this little gray squirrel with a very intelligent face. And he pointed at his hand and said “24.” So I wrote it down. And then after the exam I rushed over to the library to look it up. And would you believe it? That stupid squirrel was wrong by four bones. I went looking all over the campus for him. I wanted to kill him. I finally found him over on a bench by the Psych department. “You were wrong!” I screamed at him. “There’s 28 bones in the human hand!” “Oh,” he said pointing at his hand, “I thought you meant a squirrel’s hand.”

HAPPY SQUIRREL APPRECIATION DAY!

Leave a Reply

