The Human Race

“Oh, I know Hamlet. And what he might say with irony, I say with conviction: “What a piece of work is man! How noble in reason! How infinite in faculty! In form, in moving, how express and admirable! In action, how like an angel! In apprehension, how like a god!”

Captain Jean-Luc Picard ‘Hide and Q’ episode Star Trek: The Next Generation

“In Louisville, at the corner of 4th and Walnut, suddenly realized that I loved all the people and that none of them were, or could be, totally alien to me. As if waking from a dream-the dream of my separateness, of the ‘special’ vocation to be different…I am still a member of the human race-and what more glorious destiny is there for man, since the Word was made flesh and became, too, a member of the Human Race! Thank God! Thank God! I am only another member of the human race like all the rest of them. I have the immense joy of being a man!”

Thomas Merton, monk-priest and author

Leave a Reply

