The State of Local Filmmaking

I was looking at some of the past winners of a local short filmmaking contest today as preparation for writing a script for a local contest and was amazed.  The stories are so flat and lifeless.  Several films which included homeless people were beyond belief.  Instead of the older, life-worn, and outright crazy homeless that I see on the streets every day of the week, the films featured young, healthy-looking, unbelievably clean ‘homeless’ characters who looked more like college students on a summer road trip than true homeless.

The one thought that keeps running through my head is that if I submit the more realistic stories I have in mind, I dont have a chance of winning since the judges obviously live in a parallel city where even the poor look middle-class.  What the hell!  I dont have anything to lose.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

