Why can’t political debate be about the facts instead of the spin?

I watch with fascination the debate over the right to work legislation which is being considered back in my home state of Wisconsin.  I see the rhetoric coming from the unions and their members and also from Governor Walker.  I see people whom I respect posting stories they know(or should know) are false on Facebook and other social media.

When(and more importantly, WHY) has it become necessary to make disagreements on politcial/social issues personal?  At least two people I know and called ‘friends’ in the Kenosha area have posted false/misleading statements about Governor Walker’s position on reporting sexual assaults in order to win ‘points’ with their labor friends.  Why cant we have an honest discussion on important issues?

Are they so set on gaining political goals that they are willing to sacrifice their integrity?  Please, my friends, tell me why you have changed!

As Matthew 16:26 says, “What good will it be for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul?”

 
Leave a Reply

