My First Adult Relationship

At the age of fifty-one years and five months, I have embarked on my first adult relationship.

Don’t get me wrong!  I have been married and widowed.  I met my late wife, Isabel, in 1969 when we both were five years old. We were neighbors and attended the same schools. We dated on and off through high school and while I attended college. We were married in when we were twenty-four, and I lost her to illness in 2010, just short of our forty-sixth birthday.

What I am talking about when I say that I am embarking on my first adult relationship is that I am dating a wonderful woman and getting to know her from scratch as an adult for the first time.  With Isabel, I had nineteen years, mostly as a minor, to get to know my future wife.  Now, as a middle-aged adult male, I am facing the task of getting back into the social scene and spending time learning about an adult female from the point of tabula rasa, a blank slate, learning her character and background from a new beginning point.  Her name is Patricia.  If you want to know more, you will have to go to my Facebook page for further details.

It is very scary to step into this adventure for the first time as such an advanced age. So far, it appears to be going very well.  It is interesting to be doing something most people do for the first time at a much younger age as an adult.

Leave a Reply

